The Human Brain

The brain is made up of millions of nerve cells called neurons. These cells generate electrical impulses and messages to produce thoughts, feelings, sensations, movement and control body functions.

Regions of the brain

The brain is divided into two halves, left and right, called hemispheres. The right hemisphere controls the left side of the body and left hemisphere controls the right.

Each hemisphere has four lobes – frontal, parietal, temporal and occipital.


This is the largest structure of the brain and contains the frontal, parietal, occipital and temporal lobes. It is the centre of intellect, memory, language and consciousness, receiving and interpreting sensory information and controlling movement.

Frontal Lobes

Are our behavioural and emotional control centre. They are also involved in voluntary movement, planning, initiation, problem solving, memory, language, judgement, impulse control, and social and sexual behaviour.


Parietal Lobes

Are involved with touch, temperature and pain perception (sensation), awareness of the body and where it is in space.

Temporal Lobes

Play a large role in understanding language, speech, learning, memory, personality and behaviour.

Occipital Lobes

Are primarily responsible for vision


The cerebellum is responsible for co-ordination, and maintaining of posture, muscle tone, and balance.


Controls basic body functions such as breathing, swallowing, heart rate, blood pressure, consciousness, and whether you are awake or sleepy.

If you want to know more about the brain and its functions, go to:

Brain Function