Purple Day for Schools

What is Purple Day?

Purple Day (26th March) is a global initiative dedicated to raising epilepsy awareness. Purple Day was founded in 2008, by nine-year-old Cassidy Megan of Nova Scotia, Canada. Motivated by her own struggles with epilepsy, Cassidy started Purple Day in an effort to get people talking about the condition and to let those impacted by seizures know that they are not alone. She named the day Purple Day after the internationally recognised colour for epilepsy, lavender.


How can your school get involved?

We encourage schools to allow students to ‘Go Purple’ on a chosen day throughout the month of March to raise awareness of epilepsy within the school community, and raise funds to support the thousands of Australians around the country affected by the condition.

It could be as simple as wearing something purple in exchange for a gold coin donation, holding a fundraiser, having a bake sale, a sports day, or anything you can think of to encourage students and staff to start talking about epilepsy, and get involved in helping those in need, whilst having a great time!

We have tonnes of online resources available for teachers to use in the classroom, at no cost, so that you can help your students to learn about epilepsy whilst having fun:

High School

Keen to get your school involved? Download our toolkit to get all the information for them

Sign your school up for Purple Day by completing our Registration Form. You can have a read over our Community Fundraising Guidelines here.

Any questions? Contact Fiona on 1300 37 45 37 or using the contact form at the end of the page – we’d love to hear from you!

We are so grateful to the schools around Australia who support us! Big thanks and shout out to:

  • Alberton Primary School
  • Alfords Point Public School
  • Alloway State School
  • Alyangula Area School
  • Amity College
  • Arthurs Creek Primary School
  • Australian Catholic University
  • Australian Christian  College
  • Australian Trade College North Brisbane
  • Bankstown Public School
  • Bathurst South Public School
  • Bennett Road Public School
  • Blackall State School
  • Bletchley Park Primary School
  • Bondi Public School
  • Cabra Dominican College
  • Cantebury Vale School
  • Cardiff High School
  • Carson Street School
  • Challis Community Primary School
  • Clarence Town Public School
  • Clontarf Beach State School
  • Clyde Primary School
  • Cobar Public School
  • Cootamundra Public School
  • Cromehurst School
  • Cronulla South Public School
  • Cundletown Public School
  • Dromana Primary School
  • Eromanga State School
  • Fisher Road Special School
  • Five Islands School
  • Glenallen School
  • Glendenning Public School
  • Goonellabah Public School
  • Griffith Each Public School
  • Grose View Public School
  • Gymea Bay Public School
  • Halls Head Primary School
  • Herne Hill Primary School
  • Hoddles Creek Primary School
  • Humula Public School
  • Huonville Primary School
  • Ignatius Park College
  • Kalinda School
  • King Street Public School
  • Kinross Woloroi School
  • Kurrambee School
  • Kurri Kurri High School
  • Laguna Public School
  • Laidely High School
  • Lakeside School
  • Langley Primary School
  • Lara Lake Community Pre-School
  • Leinster Community School
  • Loyola College
  • Marayong Heights Public School
  • Marian State School
  • Marsden Park Public School
  • Merimbula Public School
  • Milgate Primary School
  • Moe (Elizabeth Street) Primary School
  • Moree Christian School
  • Morgan Street Primary School
  • Moruya Public School
  • Mt Martha Primary School
  • Murrurundi Public School
  • Nanango State School
  • Nemarluk School
  • Nillo Infants School
  • North Sydney Boys High School
  • Nulkaba Public School
  • Oxley High School
  • Oyster Bay Public School
  • Parkmore Primary School
  • Payne Road State School
  • Peterborough School
  • Portside Christian College
  • Reddam House
  • Ryde Secondary College
  • Seaford North Primary School
  • St Bede’s Primary School
  • St George Preca Primary School
  • St Mary’s Primary School
  • St Marys Rutherglen School
  • St Peters Lutheran College Springfield
  • St Raphael’s Catholic School
  • Stanmore Public School
  • Sunshine Beach State High School
  • Swansea Primary School
  • Telegraph Point Public School
  • Temora Public School
  • Tharbogang Public School
  • Tomaree Public School
  • Tweed Heads South Public School
  • Two Rocks Primary School
  • Waggrakine Primary School
  • Wallabadah Public School
  • Wandina Primary School
  • Wattle Flat Public School
  • Wee Waa High School
  • Wembley Downs Primary School
  • Wesburn Primary School
  • WhiteHorse Primary School
  • Wiley Park Public School
  • Willans Hill School
  • Wingham High School
  • Wyalkatchem District High School
  • Yowie Bay Public School
  • Zeehan Primary School

Register Your Interest