Announcement: MCIA welcomes new Parliamentary Friends of Medicinal Cannabis Group

Home > Announcement: MCIA welcomes new Parliamentary Friends of Medicinal Cannabis Group
Medicinal Cannabis Industry Australia (MCIA) is delighted to welcome the establishment of a Parliamentary Friends of Medicinal Cannabis Group in the Federal Parliament.

The group will provide a non-partisan forum for Members and Senators to meet with representatives of the Australian medicinal cannabis industry, medical experts and patient advocates to raise awareness of the applications of medicinal cannabis to Parliamentarians and within the broader community.

“The Australian government made medicinal cannabis legal in 2016 and established a regulatory framework through the Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) and Office of Drug Control (ODC) to ensure products for Australian patients are safe and effective,” said MCIA Chairman Peter Crock.

“This Group is an important forum for parliamentarians to learn about the benefits of medicinal cannabis and to further the growth of this important industry that has potential to positively contribute to health and economic outcomes for the community”.

MCIA welcomes the establishment of the Parliamentary Friends of Medicinal Cannabis Group and believes that it will play an important role in improving education and public awareness of medicinal cannabis across the community. “Improving the awareness and understanding of medicinal cannabis will help promote change in attitudes to medicinal cannabis, particularly amongst healthcare practitioners” said Mr Crock.

The Australian licensed sector will have significant capacity coming online over the next couple of years. This should see Australian patients being able to access Australian quality product in a timely and affordable manner. To achieve the shared outcomes of a sustainable industry that contributes to patient wellbeing and the economy, further progress in streamlining regulation, investment in education and providing patient subsidies is required. Mr Crock said “MCIA looks forward to the opportunity to engaging with this Group for the benefit of all Australians.”

The Parliamentary Friends of Medicinal Cannabis Group will be co-convened by two parliamentarians with medical backgrounds: Dr Mike Freelander MP and Dr Andrew Laming MP.

“This group ensures the Federal Parliament keeps a singular focus in facilitating the medicinal cannabis sector,” said Dr Laming MP. “I look forward to engaging with parliamentary colleagues and health professionals to increase awareness of medicinal cannabis to Australians,” said Dr Laming.

“It is fantastic to see that we now have such broad support for medicinal cannabis in the Commonwealth Parliament,” said Dr Mike Freelander MP.

“We need to have a bipartisan approach for funding for research into the applications for medicinal cannabis and its efficacy in many conditions such as epilepsy, cancer medicine and neurological disorders.”

“This group will serve as a vessel to raise awareness about the applications and benefits of medicinal cannabis in our society,” said Dr Freelander.

More than 30 parliamentarians (below) have expressed an active interest in supporting the group. It is anticipated that the first event to be held for the group will be later in the parliamentary sitting year (COVID- 19 conditions permitting.)

Parliamentary Friends of Medicinal Cannabis of the 46th Parliament

Name Electorate/State
Dr Mike Freelander Macarthur – Co-convenor
Dr Andrew Laming MP Bowman – Co-convenor
Hon Sharon Bird MP Cunningham
Josh Burns MP Macnamara
Senator Carol Brown Tasmania
Senator Catryna Bilyk Tasmania
Brian Mitchell MP Lyons
Hon Joel Fitzgibbon MP Hunter
Hon Warren Entsch MP Leichardt
Hon Dr John McVeigh Groom
Hon Dr Andrew Leigh Fenner
Ross Vasta MP Bonner
Ted O’Brien MP Fairfax
Hon David Gillespie MP Lyne
Hon Warren Snowdon MP Lingiari
Senator Anne Urquhart Tasmania
George Christensen MP Dawson
Senator Malcolm Roberts Queensland
Steve Georganas MP Adelaide
Senator Helen Polley Tasmania
Luke Gosling OAM MP Solomon
Hon Chris Bowen MP McMahon
Susan Templeman MP Macquarie
Michelle Landry MP Capricornia
Dr Helen Haines MP Indi
Maria Vamvakinou MP Calwell
Hon Damien Drum MP Nicholls
Senator Louise Pratt Western Australia
Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck Tasmania



Original release reposted with permission