Epilepsy Syndromes

Home > About Epilepsy > Understanding Epilepsy > Epilepsy Syndromes

What is a Syndrome?

There are many different types of epilepsy classifications. Nowadays, most people are given a specific diagnosis or name for their epilepsy, rather than just told that ‘you have epilepsy’. Some epilepsy disorders are classified as syndromes and are defined based on a unique combination of symptoms.

An epilepsy syndrome is a type of epilepsy that depends upon:

  • Family history
  • What age the seizures start
  • Seizure type(s)
  • Cause, and other linked diseases/conditions
  • How the syndrome progresses over time
  • Presence or absence of brain abnormalities
  • EEG findings
  • Brain scan findings (such as CT, MRI, PET)
  • Response to medication

A diagnosis of a particular epilepsy syndrome is useful in deciding the possible treatment options, what course of the condition may take, and the possible genetic risk of passing it on to offspring.

Click Here to read an Epilepsy 360 Magazine Special report: Not Your Everyday Epilepsy

For more information of specific syndromes go to:

John Hopkins Epilepsy Center

Epilepsy Syndromes 

For more in-depth and specific syndrome information click here.